My minimalist uniform; an unexpected side effect. 

In one of my first posts I talked about my misguided purchases post pregnancy as I tried to craft this perfect yummy mummy image. The result was a mismatched wardrobe of impractical and largely unworn clothes. Getting dressed was a small and personal hell, full of self-loathing and low self-esteem.
Following my declutter I initially looked at my wardrobe and wondered what on earth I was going to wear. I had very little left, maybe 25% of the previous volume and I was surprisingly lacking in staples. When confronted with this, it became really clear why I struggled to dress every morning, it’s all well and good having the statement chartreuse skirt, but if all of my tops and shorts are in clashing colours and prints its hello clown town and hello tears.

I’ve set to work rebuilding my wardrobe with different goals in mind;

·         Minimalist

·         Low environmental impact ( Organic, recycled, second hand etc)

·         Ethical

·         Stress free

Now minimalist has a twofold meaning in this context, not only is less definitely more, but minimalism promotes making intentional, high quality purchases; and like a capsule wardrobe encourages you to make classic purchases that will last. Low environmental impact is a huge personal value of mine, I try where possible to buy clothes second hand, I am a huge Ebay fan, but organic and recycled fabrics are relatively new to me. As is ethical fashion; something I largely hadn’t considered but apply to other areas in my life. I like to shop at farmers markets, the quality is great and I like to know that the farmer is receiving a fair price for the food they grow, but somehow I hadn’t given this same consideration to the clothes I wear. With all things in life if it’s too good to be true it is. And you can’t have ethically made, organic t-shirts from Primark for £2 a pop. 

Once all of these fashion values had been applied to my purchasing the result was stress free dressing. I have a very simple wardrobe now, made up of quality staples like boots, jeans and black/white t-shirts. I am still working on upgrading some items like my leather jacket which I bought as a stop gap for £40 from Zara, I just didn’t have the £400 sat to buy the real deal, and I don’t do debt these days. But in general I dress with ease, I don’t have to struggle with putting together a “look”. My whole wardrobe is focused on me, my needs, my comfort and my lifestyle. 

The unexpected side effect of this has been an increase in my confidence. I don’t beat myself up when I dress, I slip comfortably into well-fitting clothes that flatter my body, I don’t spend all day pulling at things or worrying about yoghurty toddler fingers, or getting dirty playing and the result is I feel great. I have actually achieved that yummy mummy image I set out to find in all the wrong places, I found it through my intuition, by listening to myself and my needs.

What I was yearning for wasn’t in a label or a trend, or immaculate hair and make-up, it was a sense of confidence that I envied in the “yummy mummy” brigade. I still have some work to do to find a better harmony with my post baby body, but I am proud of the progress I have made in a relatively short time.

What a difference a uniform makes.

Me x

 

Leave a Reply

